Gossip Girl Finale

Sadly, hit series Gossip Girl, created by Josh Schwartz and Stephanie Savage (inspired by author Cecily Von Ziegesar’s best selling series, similarly entitled Gossip Girl), has come to an end.  After six seasons, the curtains close with the reveal of not only the infamous and anonymous characterization of “Gossip Girl”, but also the concluding fates of all the characters that we the viewers have grown to either hate, or love.  That being said, I will keep this post spoiler free, focusing my attention on my feelings rather than exposing any factual information.

Rather than critique the entire show, I want to focus this review upon the finale, which although illuminated various plot holes, was charmingly heart whelming and wonderfully executed.  Firstly, I would like to commend the writers of this show on wrapping up the series without leaving the viewers wanting more.  Everything and everyone that should have been included in this finale was there, without being out of place, or even awkward.  Secondly, the “Gossip Girl” reveal, though somewhat predictable, was done in a way that was still intriguing, while incorporating the entire series as a whole, giving the finale a bittersweet feel that fit the story nicely.  Thirdly, the vast amount of cameos was fabulous.  I personally could not stop smiling at the sight of all the past villains, friends, and lovers that appeared on my screen, even if for just a split-second.  Following that thought, I want to give major kudos for GG-gossip-girl-photo-season-finaleintegrating Kristen Bell, the actual voice of “Gossip Girl” into the series alongside Rachel Bilson as actual characters within the story.  And lastly, I want to share my admiration for staying true to their franchise, by keeping the show entertaining, while giving us viewers what we want in mostly always-unexpected ways (even though they were often ridiculous or cheesy—but hey, it’s Gossip Girl not Law and Order).

Personally, I am sad that this show is over, as I was a true fan from it’s beginning to end.  However, I do feel that it ended in a great place, satisfying me perfectly.  There shouldn’t be a movie, adaptation, or sequel series for this show, as (in my eyes at least) it is the type of series that was done properly the first time running.

To all the Gossip Girl fans out there, I hope you enjoyed the show as much as I have.
You know you love me,
XOXO,
madcritic

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment